« Back to Blog

Education award winners announced

Several employees at Wichita Presbyterian Manor will receive assistance to continue their education through Presbyterian Manors of Mid-America's Employee Education Assistance program.

Human Resources Director Lori Schartz is usually the person who tells employees about benefits, but she herself is taking advantage of the education assistance benefit this year. Lori is pursuing a graduate certificate in conflict resolution from Kansas State University. She has a bachelor of science degree in business administration with an emphasis in HR and has been with Presbyterian Manor since 2014.

Lori said she wanted to expand her understanding of dealing with conflicts because she sees challenges our staff have in working with all kinds of personalities.

"We are human, so everyone experiences some kind of conflict in our personal lives and work lives," she said. "If I can be a resource and/or facilitator in any workplace conflict, then staff are happier, we have less turnover for our community, and they can better serve our residents."

The education assistance program provides scholarships to employees for accredited educational programs leading to a certification, license or degree. Applications are accepted and reviewed every spring. To be eligible, employees must have been employed at PMMA for at least one year at the time the award is made (usually mid-summer). Funds are paid after the successful completion (a “C” grade or higher) of the approved course and can be used to cover tuition, fees and books.

Six other Wichita Presbyterian Manor employees also received assistance for their education. They are:

  •        Noemi Arzola, LPN, pursuing RN

  •        Aimee Lara, RN, pursuing bachelor of science in nursing (BSN)

  •        Paola Marin, CNA, studying to be a certified medication aide (CMA)

  •        Kristen Nowak, CNA, studying to be an LPN

  •        Paige Peterson, CNA, studying to be an LPN

  •        Roxanne Reed, RN, pursuing BSN

Congratulations to all of our award recipients, and best wishes to them on their studies!

« Back to Blog